

Proceedings of the Meeting of the Leeds City Council held Civic Hall, Leeds on Thursday, 25th May, 2017

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor Gerry Harper in the Chair.

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter
Caroline Anderson Amanda Carter
Billy Flynn Rod Wood

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Neil Alan Buckley Eileen Taylor

Dan Cohen Mohammed Rafique

Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Karen Renshaw Elizabeth Nash
Jack Dunn Patrick Davey
Lisa Mulherin Mohammed Iqbal

ARMLEY CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

Alison Natalie Kay Lowe

James McKenna Pauleen Grahame
Alice Smart Peter John Gruen

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

Angela Gabriel David Blackburn
Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn
David Congreve Terry Wilford

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Caroline Gruen
Julie Heselwood

Kevin Ritchie Stuart McKenna

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Denise Ragan
Asghar Khan
Arif Hussain
Ron Grahame

Final Minutes approved at the meeting held on 12th July 2017

GUISELEY & RAWDON

MORLEY NORTH

Graham Latty

Paul John Spencer Wadsworth

Pat Latty

HAREWOOD

Robert Gettings
Thomas Leadley
MORLEY SOUTH

Ryan Stephenson

Judith Elliott Neil Dawson Shirley Varley

OTLEY & YEADON

HEADINGLEY

Alison Garthwaite Sandy Edward Charles Lay
Neil Walshaw Colin Campbell
Jonathon Pryor Ryk Downes
HORSFORTH PUDSEY

Christopher Townsley

Dawn Collins Brian Cleasby

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Josephine Patricia Jarosz Richard Alwyn Lewis

Mick Coulson ROTHWELL

Christine Denise Towler

Gerry Harper Javaid Akhtar

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

David Nagle Karen Bruce

Barry Stewart Golton

ROUNDHAY

Graham Hyde
Catherine Dobson
Brian Michael Selby
KIPPAX & METHLEY

Mary Elizabeth Harland

James Lewis

Keith Ivor Wakefield

KIRKSTALL

Eleanor Tunnicliffe
Christine Macniven
Ghulam Hussain
TEMPLE NEWSAM

Debra Coupar Helen Hayden Michael Lyons **WEETWOOD**

Lucinda Joy Yeadon John Anthony Illingworth Fiona Elizabeth Venner MIDDLETON PARK

Paul Anthony Truswell

Judith Blake Kim Groves MOORTOWN

Alex Sobel Rebecca Charlwood Sharon Hamilton Jonathan Bentley Susan Bentley

Judith Mara Chapman

WETHERBY
Gerald Wilkinson
Alan James Lamb
John Michael Procter

1 Opening Remarks

The Lord Mayor reminded all those present that the Annual Meeting was to be webcast and referred to the recent tragic events in Manchester.

Council stood in silent tribute.

2 Issue of Papers for the Meeting

The Lord Mayor indicated that, following the dispatch of the Summons with accompanying reports on Wednesday 17th May 2017, further papers originally identified on the Summons as to follow were circulated to Members on Wednesday 24th May 2017.

3 Election of Lord Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Blake, seconded by Councillor A Lamb, supported by Councillors Golton, Elliott and Wilford and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Jane Dowson be elected Lord Mayor of the City of Leeds to hold Office until the election of her successor.

The meeting was suspended to allow for Councillor Dowson to accept the Chain of Office and to take the Chair.

4 Election of Vice Chair of Council

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Jim McKenna be appointed Vice Chairman of Council to hold Office until immediately after the election of the Lord Mayor at the Annual Meeting of Council in 2018.

5 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

Councillor Blake moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Gerry Harper. This was seconded by Councillor J Procter and supported by Councillors Golton, Gettings and A Blackburn and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That a vote of thanks be moved for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Gerry Harper.

6 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie, seconded by Councillor G Latty and

RESOLVED – That the minutes of the meeting held on 29th March 2017 be approved.

7 Declaration of Interests

There were no declarations of interest at this meeting.

8 Announcements

There were no announcements.

9 Recommendations of the General Purposes Committee - Amendments to the Constitution

It was moved by Councillor Blake seconded by Councillor Ogilvie and

RESOLVED – That the recommendations of the General Purposes Committee with regard to amendments to the Constitution, as detailed in the report of the City Solicitor, be approved.

10 Establishment of Committees and Appointments

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland and

RESOLVED –That Schedules 8(a) to (c) and Schedules 8(e) and (f) be approved and that the City Solicitor be authorised, in consultation with appropriate Whips, to change appointments made during the period between this meeting and the next ordinary meeting of Council.

11 Appointment of Community Committee Chairs

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules where the nomination for the chair of a Community Committee is unopposed, the Lord Mayor invited those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting to elect that nominee.

The nominees were as follows;

Inner North West Community Committee - Councillor Akhtar
Outer North West Community Committee - Councillor Wadsworth
Inner North East Community Committee - Councillor Taylor
Outer North East Community Committee - Councillor Wilkinson
Inner East Community Committee - Councillor A Khan
Outer East Community Committee - Councillor Harland
Inner West Community Committee - Councillor Venner
Outer West Community Committee - Councillor Coulson
Inner South Community Committee - Councillor Gabriel

Upon being put to the vote those Members listed to vote in respect of the appointment of the Chair for their respective Community Committees;

RESOLVED – That the Chair for each Community Committee be appointed as set out above.

12 Appointment of Community Committee Chair - Outer South Community Committee

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland that in accordance with Community Committee Procedure Rules that the appointment of the Chair of the Outer South Community Committee be determined by those Members of the Community Committee present at the Council meeting.

The 2 nominees were Councillor K Bruce and Councillor R Finnigan.

Upon being put to the vote those Members listed to vote in respect of the appointment of the Chair for the Outer South Community Committees;

RESOLVED – That Councillor K Bruce be appointed Chair of the Outer South Community Committee.

13 Scheme of Delegation (Council (Non-Executive) Functions)

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland and

RESOLVED – That the Officer Delegation Scheme (Council (Non Executive) Functions) as detailed in Schedule 9 be approved

⁴ Final Minutes approved at the meeting held on 12th July 2017

14 Executive Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland and

RESOLVED – That the list presented by the Leader setting out the arrangements for the discharge of Executive Functions, as detailed in Schedule 10, be noted.

15 Council Meeting Dates 2017/2018

It was moved by Councillor Ogilvie seconded by Councillor Harland and

RESOLVED – That the dates of the meetings of the Council for the Municipal Year 2017/18, as detailed in Schedule 11 be approved.

Council rose at 7.30 pm